Sonrisas de León seeks to generate community development and promote the social transformation of vulnerable communities in the city of Cartagena de Indias, through processes of social intervention, food assistance and solidarity support. The foundation is based around a community dining room that prepares and serves lunch every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday for 600 children and adolescents from the Isla de Leon sector, in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. It is the initiative of Roosevel Morales, a social communication graduate and chef, who after losing his Mother, victim of the of cancer, decided to go out into the world and make a change. In 2016, after a strong winter season, Rossevelt decided to visit the Isla de Leon and learn about the needs of its inhabitants. In his first helping experience, he provided a meal for up to 500 children. In August 2018, Roosevelt took the initiative to form a dining room and provide permanent help to the community, especially children, adolescents and pregnant women. Fundación Sonrisas de León, through their community dining room, also supports additional projects such as project homework, an initiative to provide a safe space and support for student interested in improving at school. They have also provided training in: arts, music, cooking, sustainable gardening, dressmaking, makeup, baking, crafts, carpentry and construction. All activities aimed at women, men and young adults interested in learning a productive trade.

All the social services are possible thanks to the support of people who got to know the foundation initiatives through social media and personal networks. The foundation also creates awareness and promotes their activities through local media newspapers and T.V channels. There are alliances with various universities that have offered days of recreation as well as health & medical education for the welfare of the community. Not too long ago, together with Profamilia (state own sexual education organization), the foundation organized and carried out a pregnancy prevention day, due to the corona virus and confinement, the pregnancy rate has increased in some of the most vulnerable sectors of the city. At the end of the prevention day, contraceptive implants were placed, and 49 women benefited from this birth control campaign.

The foundation mission is to provide children with food and activities that will guarantee their healthy growth and brain development, which in time will allow them to break the cycle of poverty in which they are currently immersed.

Sonrisas de Leon

Sonrisas de León fördert durch verschiedene, soziale Initiativen sowie der Bereitstellung von Lebensmitteln die Weiterentwicklung armer und strukturschwacher Viertel in Cartagenia. Das Herzstück der Stiftung ist ein Speisesaal, in dem jeden Dienstag, Donnerstag und Samstag Mittagessen für ca. 600 Kinder und Jugendliche aus Isla de Leon in Cartagenia zubereitet und verteilt wird. Die Stiftung wurde von Roosevel Morales, einem Absolventen in sozialer Kommunikation, gegründet. Der passionierte Koch entschloss nach dem durch Krebs verursachten Tod seiner Mutter, seinen Beitrag zur Unterstützung der weniger Privilegierten leisten zu wollen. Nach einem harten Winter besuchte er im Jahr 2016 das Viertel Isla de Leon, um deren Probleme und Bedürfnisse besser zu verstehen und dabei zu helfen, Essen für ca. 500 Kinder zuzubereiten. Mit diesen Erfahrungen im Gepäck begann Roosevel im August 2018, einen Speisesaal zu errichten, um den Bewohnern, besonders aber Kindern, Jugendlichen und schwangerne Frauen, kontinuierlich helfen zu können. Durch den bereitgestellten Speisesaal unterstützte die Stiftung Sonrias de León weitere Projekte und Aktivitäten wie zum Beispiel eine Art Hausaufgabenbetreuung, die Kinder und Jugendliche beim Lernen unterstützen soll. Des Weiteren wurden Workshops im Bereich Kunst, Musik, Kochen, Backen, nachhaltiges Gärtnern, Schneidern, Make-up sowie Handwerk, Zimmern und Bauen für junge Männer und Frauen durchgeführt, die sich einen Berufseinstieg in diesen Bereichen vorstellen konnten.

All diese sozialen Tätigkeiten sind dank der Unterstützung derer möglich, die auf die Aktivitäten der Stiftung durch soziale Netzwerke und persönliche Kontakte aufmerksam wurden. Die Stiftung versucht außerdem, das öffentliche Interesse an ihrer Arbeit durch Berichterstattung in lokalen Zeitungen und Fernsehsendern zu erhöhen. Zudem gibt es Kooperationen mit verschiedenen Universitäten, die die Bewohner des Viertels im Bereich gesundheitliche und medizinische Weiterbildung unterstützt. Vor Kurzem hat die Stiftung in Zusammenarbeit mit Profamilia (staatliche Einrichtung zur Förderung der sexuellen Erziehung) eine Veranstaltung zum Thema Verhütung organisiert, um der teilweise sprunghaft angestiegenen Schwangerschaftsrate während der Corona-Zeit entgegenzuwirken. Profamilia Als Teil dieser Veranstaltung wurden u.a. 49 junge Frauen mit verschiedenen Verhütungsmitteln versorgt.

Ziel der Stiftung ist es, Kinder und Jugendliche sowohl durch Lebensmittel als auch weiterbildende Maßnahmen so zu fördern, dass sich diese physisch sowie mental gesund entwickeln können. Denn nur so können diese langfristig dem Teufelskreis der Armut entfliehen.

Menü schließen
de_DEDE
en_USEN de_DEDE