Earthquake Relief for Mexico 2017

Last summer, two earthquakes hit Mexico within the space of just over two weeks. First, on 7th September 2017, an earthquake with a magnitude of 8.1 affected the southern regions Chiapas, Oaxaca and Tabasco. According to official sources, more than 60 people were killed and over 40,000 homes damaged. Then, on 19th September 2017, another earthquake with a magnitude of 7.1 hit Puebla, south of Mexico City. The affected regions included Mexico City, Morelos, Puebla, Mexico State and Guerrero. At least 226 people lost their lives – the highest figure of earthquake victims since the 1980s. In Morelos alone, at least 71 were confirmed dead, 300 homes and businesses collapsed entirely, and at least 1,500 other buildings were damaged. At least 44 buildings collapsed completely in Mexico City with thousands more left damaged and unstable.

 

Two powerful quakes happening very close to each other meant that rescuers and volunteers were working at heir limits and in need of financial help. Charity Cat called for a global donation, gathering 1,600 €, which we rounded up to 2,000 € and donated  to TOPOS.

 

TOPOS, which was founded during the earthquake of 1985, is a volunteer rescue brigade for quakes, fires, floods and eruptions and is completely self-sufficient, non-governmental and non-commercial. Besides the rescue team, they have construction specialists, paramedics and trained dogs. They buy their own tools (light equipment to work fast). They collaborate with the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs. For the Earthquakes in 2017, they needed further resources to buy equipment, food for the volunteers and the dogs, amongst other things. More information here: http://www.topos.mx/

 

Cover image by ProtoplasmaKid, used under CC license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/)

Close Menu
en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

Earthquake Relief for Mexico 2017

Erdbebenhilfe für Mexiko 2017

Im Sommer 2017 erschütterten zwei starke Erdbeben Mexiko: am 7. September gab es in den südlichen Regionen Chiapas, Oaxaca und Tabasco ein Erdbeben der Stärke 8,1. . Nach Behördenangaben starben mehr als 60 Menschen und zahlreiche Gebäude stürzten ein oder wurden beschädigt. Am 19. September bebte es nochmals: diesmal lag das Zentrum des Bebens mit einer Magnitude von 7,1 in der Region Puebla südlich von Mexiko Stadt und betraf außerdem Mexiko State, Morelos und Guerrero. Mit mindestens 226 Toten war es das Beben mit den meisten Opfern seit den 1980ern. Allein in Morelos starben mindestens 71 Personen, 300 Gebäude fielen in sich zusammen, mindestens 1.500 weitere Gebäude wurden beschädigt. Auch in Mexiko Stadt stürzten viele Gebäude ein oder wurden durch das Beben instabil.

 

Nach zwei solch starken Beben brauchten die Rettungskräfte und Freiwilligen dringend finanzielle Unterstützung. Charity Cat hatte deswegen einen weltweiten Spendenaufruf gestartet und so mehr als 1.600 Euro gesammelt. Die Summe wurde auf 2.000 Euro aufgerundet, gespendet wurde sie an die Organisation TOPOS.

 

TOPOS wurde bereits während des Erdbebens 1985 gegründet und ist eine freiwillige Rettungstruppe für Erdbeben, Feuer und Überflutungen. Sie arbeitet gemeinnützig und unabhängig von der Regierung und zu ihren Mitgliedern zählen neben freiwilligen Rettungskräften auch Wiederaufbauexperten und Sanitäter; sie hat eigene Rettungshunde und Werkzeuge. Unsere Spende nach den Erdbeben 2017 hat TOPOS unter anderem für weitere Werkzeuge und Ausstattung, Lebensmittel für ihre Helfer und die Hunde verwendet. Mehr hier: http://www.topos.mx/

 

Coverbild von ProtoplasmaKidCreative Commons Lizenzhttps://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/)

Menü schließen
de_DEDE
en_USEN de_DEDE